top of page

GC event write up #2

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

March 6 2020 – The Vagina Monologues

The Vagina Monologues was a compilation of episodes each presented in a different point of view. The show was put together by interviewing women about their vaginas. The show was both comedic and sad ranging from empowering tales about learning to love your vagina to overcoming rape.

This course has taught me it is okay to talk about your vagina (maybe not to strangers). The stories shown in this performance would have usually been uncomfortable for me but after taking this course I can look at them in a different way. Things I used to not discuss with people until your course are similar in a way to how the women in these stories were taught to think their vaginas were bad until someone showed them they are not.

Living in the 21st century I grew up in a society that viewed sex in a positive way but many of the women in these stories were not. This event showed me what it was like for other women to grow up, viewing their body parts as bad. I come from a Baptist family who taught me not to engage with that body part until I was married, I was taught to view it as something bad. Most of the women in the stories were taught the same thing, “make sure she’s not around any boys”. I was able to relate to this event in a way and it taught me to appreciate the body I was given.

-AH


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page