top of page

GC Event Write-Up

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

February 17, 2020 – “Heathers the Musical”

The Georgia College theatre program put on the musical “Heathers”. Heathers is based on the 1988 movie Heathers. In the production the lead played by, Erden Mohl directed the audience using her diary and showed us the hidden troubles of high school. The school mean girls also known as the Heathers befriended Veronica (Erden) for her skill of copying handwriting to a tee. When veronica is overwhelmed, frustrated, and hating her life she uses her unique talent in a rather dark way. Veronica and bad boy love interest JD kill Heather C, Ram S and Kurt K for revenge and to get away with it, they forage suicide notes.

After taking this course I see music, movies, and theatre completely differently. In Veronica’s mind she wanted to make high school a better place for everyone in doing so she removed a few bullies. In those instances she is taking her power back in a way. Her voice is no longer masked by the popular kids. Many critics question whether or not she want about it the right way. There really is no right answer, in class we discussed when there’s a right time for violence and how far to take it. How is killing a doctor because you do not like that he provides abortions any differently than killing someone because you don’t like they treat people. This class has taught me everything is subjective and I saw the play a lot less darker than some others may have.

I was excited for this event because I love theatre and I have heard good things about the musical despite never seeing the movie. After seeing the musical I don’t really consider Veronica a villain like others might. She was sick of people close to her bullied and took matters into her own hands. Do I agree with her? I got a good laugh and a lesson to treat people how I would like to be treated because I don’t want to be murdered.

-AH


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page